Kyogle Council election

The election for all local government councils in NSW will be held on Saturday 4 December. The Kyogle Council election will be conducted by the NSW Electoral Commission.

The NSWEC has worked with NSW Health to implement a comprehensive plan to allow voters to cast their ballot safely in person, by post or online. iVote (electronic voting) will be available for the first time in the local council elections and the NSW Government has implemented changes to pre-poll to ensure that voters have 13 days to cast their ballot, reducing congestion on polling day.

For further information about the COVID safety plan for the Local Government elections follow this link.

Residents are reminded that voting in the election is compulsory.

Kyogle Council has a three Ward system, with three Councillors elected in each Ward.

The Wards are:

A Ward

Cawongla, Wadeville and parts of Kyogle.

B Ward

Ettrick, Geneva and parts of Kyogle.

C Ward

Wiangaree, Grevillia, Woodenbong, Muli Muli, Old Bonalbo, Bonalbo, Tabulam, Mallanganee and Mummulgum.

To download/view a more detailed map showing the Ward boundaries, click here.

To find out what Ward you live in, follow this link to the NSW Electoral Commission website.


Following the close of nominations on 3 November, the returning officer advised that only three candidates had nominated for the three councillor positions in Ward A. As such, the three candidates – Hayden Doolan, Kylie Thomas and Janet Wilson – were declared elected.

For details about the candidates for Wards B and C, please following this link to the NSW Electoral Commission website,   click on the Who are the candidates button and follow the prompts.


A pre-poll polling booth for Wards B and C will operate in the Kyogle Memorial Institute in Stratheden Street, Kyogle, from Monday 22 November to Friday 3 December.

It will be open from 9am-5pm Monday to Saturday and is fully wheelchair accessible.

On the day of the election, people can lodge their vote at the following locations:

B Ward: Wiangaree Hall and Kyogle Memorial Institute Hall

C Ward: Bonalbo District Community Hall; Mallanganee Memorial Hall; Tabulam Public School; Wiangaree Hall; Woodenbong Public Hall; and Kyogle Memorial Institute Hall.

Polling booths will open from 8am-6pm.

Candidates are advised that to reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission between electors, election officials and candidate/political party volunteers, the usual “six metre rule” is being extended to 100 metres with the Electoral Commissioner issuing new directions under the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021:

  • No electoral material is to be handed out, or left out for collection, in a publicly owned or occupied area (such as on the footpath) that is within 100 metres of the entrance to a polling place or a pre-polling venue on polling days, and
  • No posters can be displayed in a publicly owned or occupied area (such as on the footpath or school fences) within 100 metres of the entrance to a polling place or pre-poll venue on polling days, unless they are put in place before 7am (and are otherwise lawful and safe – such as not obstructing electors or other people). Any posters put in place before 7am on a polling day must not to be adjusted or moved again until after 7pm.  This direction applies to all types of posters, including A-frames and corflutes. 

Local government election information

How can I check what roll I am on?

You can check your residential enrolment by following this link to the Australian Electoral Commission website or by calling the AEC on 13 23 26. You can contact council on 6632 1611 to check whether you are enrolled on a non-residential roll.

Important dates for the 2021 Local Government elections

Monday, 25 October 2021

    • Close of electoral rolls (6pm)
    • Candidate nominations open

Wednesday, 3 November

    • Close of candidate nominations (12pm)
    • Registration of electoral materials commences

Friday, 5 November 2021

    • Caretaker period commences

Monday, 22 November 2021

    • Pre-poll voting opens

Friday, 26 November 2021

    • Registration of electoral material closes (5pm)

Monday, 29 November 2021

    • Registration of electoral material closes (5pm)

Friday, 3 December 2021

    • Declared institution voting closes (6pm)
    • Pre-poll voting closes (6pm)

Saturday, 4 December 2021

    • Election Day 8am-6pm

Friday, 17 December 2021

    • 6pm – Return of postal votes closes

 Friday, 3 September 2021

    • Close of pre-poll voting period.

21-23 December 2021

    • Results declared progressively as counts are finalised by election manager