Expressions of interest sought for Climate Change Working Group

Kyogle Council is calling for expressions of interest from community members keen to be part of its Climate Change Working Group.

The working group will provide advice and recommendations around climate change, management of climate risk and implementation on targets relating to climate change and renewable energy in the Kyogle local government area (LGA).

It will be made up of three councillors, relevant council staff and six community members from groups concerned with: science, commerce and industry, Indigenous representation, community and youth.

Community members will be appointed for two years but would be able to nominate for further terms.

Kyogle Council Mayor Cr Danielle Mulholland said the Working Group would have a wide brief which included monitoring the implementation of Council’s Sustainable Councils and Communities Action Plan and associated targets and its Climate Change Adaptation Risk Assessment report.

“Short term targets in the Sustainable Councils and Communities Action Plan include sourcing 25% of Council’s electricity demand through on site solar energy generation by 2025, while the long-term target is to source 100% of Council’s electricity demand from renewables by 2030,” Cr Mulholland said.

“The working group will also help Council incorporate the latest knowledge of climate change impacts into our planning policies and instruments, as well as provide a broader advocacy role with the aim of informing and educating the community.

“There is also scope for the working group to foster opportunities for external funding and joint projects that align with Council’s adopted strategies and targets and monitor State and Federal Government climate change adaptation direction and advise Council on appropriate responses.”

Expressions of interest to join the working group must be submitted in writing to Council’s General Manager by close of business January 24, 2020.

EIOs will be assessed against the following selection criteria:

  • Community delegates should preferably be nominated by a community group, consortium of community groups or a peak body preferably with wide membership or representation and must reside in the Kyogle Local Government Area
  • Commerce and industry delegates should preferably be nominated by a peak body or a consortium of organisations preferably with a wide membership or representation and must reside in the Kyogle Local Government Area.
  • Scientific representatives must have a speciality in disciplines related to climate change and or renewable energy, with preference given to those who reside in the Kyogle Local Government Area.

EIOs should be emailed to or sent to PO Box 11, Kyogle, NSW 2474.

Community members wanting further information about the working group or submitting an expression of interest, should contact Council’s Strategic Initiatives Coordinator Suzie Coulston on 02 6632 1611.