Bush Fire Danger Period begins 1 September

The Bush Fire Danger Period for the Kyogle Council area will start on Tuesday, 1 September, 2020.
The Bush Fire Danger Period will also start on Tuesday for the Richmond Valley, Lismore, Ballina and Byron local government areas.
The introduction of the Bush Fire Danger Period means that any one wanting to a light a fire from Tuesday will require a fire permit.
Persons wishing to light a fire at any time throughout the year are required to notify the NSW Rural Fire Service and all adjoining neighbours 24 hours prior to lighting. Failure to comply can result in fines under the Rural Fires Act 1997.
Smoke regulations prohibit burning in some areas – contact your Council or local Fire Brigade for further information.